Dump Day: Anna Karenina

Maybe my dislike isn’t fully founded. I never actually finished the book. But, I do love Russian lit–especially from this period.

I’m not a big Tolstoy fan, even when it comes to short stories. However, I thorougly enjoy Hadji Murad. So maybe my opinion is still worthy. I tried reading this after a professor I liked recommended it under the pretense that it is his best novel and would change my mind about Tolstoy.

At first, I was into it. There was a lot of family history and back story and all that I expected from such a book. I read approximately half of it, and until that point I truly believed I was being swayed to the Tolstoy camp. But then it started to slow down and talk a lot about some sort of horse race and…I gave.

It took me about a year to get that far into it. I persistently read other books at the same time because I thought it’d keep me from getting too tired or discouraged after Anna Karenina slowed down. Yet it didn’t. However, I will go ahead and admit that the ultimate downfall is simply that I do not like Leo Tolstoy. Sorry.

2 thoughts on “Dump Day: Anna Karenina

  1. When someone writes an article he/she retains the image of a user in his/her mind that how a user can be
    aware of it. Thus that’s why this post is outstdanding. Thanks!

    Like

  2. I agree with you. I love Russian lit, but dislike Tolstoy. And I kind of don’t “get” Pushkin… although I hear he doesn’t go into English very well, so maybe that’s it.

    Like

Comments are closed.