Dump Day: The Catcher in the Rye

Is this a shitty book, per se? No. I read it, didn’t hate it. Also, didn’t love it.

If you’re not of this generation it feels outdated and unrelatable. Holden Caulfield is a great character in my book snobbish eyes, but in my teenager of the 21st century eyes–he was little pretentious, whiny, and plain annoying.

What a bummer he got to stroll around the city on his own for an afternoon without the hassle of constant human contact via some sort of electronic device. The old soul in me wishes I could do that. But at the same time, I can’t relate to how Holden feels.

For one: I’m an only child. The bond and love he has for his little sister is beyond comprehension to me.

For two: Holden’s “rebellion” isn’t really rebellious at all compared to things I’ve seen, or heard of, my peers doing. He got expelled, skipped town so his parents wouldn’t realize it until after Christmas break (see he’s considerate of other people), and he’s got mad respect for women.

He’s concerned about Jane (considerate again) and shops for a gift for his little sister (more consideration). Yet how he ends up in a mental instituation was always unclear to me. I wanted to know what caused the breakdown, or at least how it played out and when.

All in all, it was a good read. An easy read. But it wasn’t really satisfying or as magnificent as my mom made it out to be. Granted, she could have been Holden’s Jane when she read it and therefore probably related far more than I could. Plus, the thought of it being banned–for profanity–baffles me to this day.

