Dump Day: Netherland

“Modern day Great Gatsby”–that’s what a review had described this as, which is what prompted me to purchase it. I love Gatsby, so how could this be passed up?

It could have been and my life would be no worse, in fact it might be better had I not read this.

Honestly, I’m not sure how it’s anything like The Great Gatsby, aside from the fact that they’re both set in New York City. I’m not even sure what it’s supposed to be about exactly. There’s a guy and he spends a lot of time talking about or referring to cricket.

Hans, the main guy, isn’t interesting. At all. He sort of just bumbles through thoughts and the city and interactions in the most disingenuous way that, as a reader, makes you feel nothing for him or his situation.

Unless you have to read it for a college class, it’s part of your book club, or you just really love cricket–skip it.

