Once Upon a Prince, by Rachel Hauck

Review can be found at The Celebrity Cafe.

I started this on Friday, I believe and finished it this morning around 3am. Practically reading the majority of it yesterday and last night. I’m not usually one for romance novels, let alone Christian romance ones, but for what it was this really wasn’t bad. It was fun and easy to get through. The characters are likeable and realistic. Even the settings of St. Simons Island and Brighton are quite amazing. I’d definitely live in either place, I think.

But, what I left out of my review for publication were my feelings on the religion factor. While having faith and being Christian are all fine and good as far as I’m concerned, the prevalence of it sort of ruined the story for me. Sure the budding couple bond over their faith–great. Even the instances where each of them speaks of feeling a “Presence” in certain places, like St. Stephen’s Cathedral in Brighton or Christ Church on the Georgian island town, didn’t bother me. But when they started praying together, aloud, and handing their lives over to God’s will (so to speak) that was crossing some comfort level boundaries for me.

The difference you might ask?
Feeling a Presence or something Holy in a particular place feels natural, to me. Even outside of a Christian context that seems completely likely, plausible, and a situation that a majority of people can connect with. The presence of something divine, of something bigger and deeper that we all have a connection to–whatever it may be, or whatever name we may call it by. It’s universal and I love that!

However, handing over my entire life to that entity…allowing some plan to magically unfold before me as if I have no part in it…no thank you. That doesn’t jive with me. While I believe in a higher power, an ultimate supreme being, I don’t like to think that whatever/whoever that is has my life planned out–unbeknownst to, without any input from or consultation with me.

