Blue Apron: Week 1 Review

Back in December, we received a coupon in the mail, which in and of itself is nothing out of the ordinary. However, for once it was a coupon I actually wanted to use — “$30 off your first order.” For months, I had been considering one of these home-delivery food services but had yet to commit.

The service at the top of my list? Blue Apron. Why? Well, it was the first one I had come across back when these things were a bit more of a novelty and it had been promoted on a couple podcasts I listen to, regularly. Now that I had a coupon, that offered 1/2 off, I had no more excuses. It expired on December 31st, and I put off ordering to the very last minute, but finally set up my account.scheduled our first delivery for January 6th.

Account set up was easy, and I love that you can choose the types of ingredients you receive: Selections include fish, poultry, shellfish, pork, beef and lamb, as well as “I’m a vegetarian.” I checked that vegetarian box and scheduled our first delivery for January 6th.

Week 1 Meals

  • Roasted Cauliflower Pitas with Feta Cheese & Yogurt Sauce
  • Artichoke & Potato Quiches with Romaine & Orange Salad
  • Spaghetti Squash Marinara with Mushrooms & Garlic Knots

Cost for Week #1: $29.94

Our box arrived right on time! I unpacked the box and loaded the fridge with perfectly-portioned-for-two-people ingredients for the three meals. This was even more exciting because it meant I didn’t need to go grocery shopping for the week! This whole Blue Apron deal was looking even more appealing.

We started the week off with the pitas. They were super-simple to make! Prep time, with the help my sous chef (the boyfriend) was pretty close to the 15 minutes the recipe card indicated, and our meal with ready to eat in less than an hour. The yogurt/feta sauce was delicious and just spicy enough! My only complaint was that the pitas stayed pretty unpliable, which made filling them difficult.

Next up, we made the quiches. Now, I’m not a fan of quiche, period, but figured I’d give it a try because I do love artichokes and potatoes. Again, prep time was simple and probably took less than Blue Apron’s estimated 15 minutes. The salad seemed pretty plain, but once the vinegar and oil dressing was added it was good, but still very simple. The quiches were easy to make but so bland. They reminded me of every vegetarian meal I attempted to cook at home, circa 2009 — flavorless, unappealing, and unsatisfying. Definitely not something we’d ever make again.

Spaghetti squash was last on our list because I, rightfully, assumed it would be the most difficult and time-intensive to make. Granted, I wasn’t there to help and my man did it all himself and informed me, “This recipe is a bitch!” But his garlic knots were beautiful, although not very garlicky at all because the garlic paste wouldn’t paste, and he thought the dish was a bit on the bland side. I, however, had it for lunch the following day and thought it was pretty tasty! Maybe it just needed that time to marinate in the sauce and really absorb the flavors. I’d keep it in the recipe box if he had enjoyed it, but since he didn’t it won’t be gracing our table again, either.

Pros & Cons

  • I love that it eliminated the bulk of meal planning and grocery shopping.
  • All three recipes were fairly quick and simple to make, which is a must in our kitchen.
  • Delivery was on time and ingredients were fresh.
  • It doesn’t fully eliminate grocery shopping. You still need basics like milk, eggs and bread, along with anything for lunches or snacks throughout the week.
  • Recipes are single servings, for two, so there are no leftovers. This meant we still had to plan for lunches and a couple other dinners, which we would usually rely on leftovers for.
  • 2 out of 3 meals weren’t that great, in our opinions.

Overall, the concept is great, but I’m not sure this is the service for us. We’ll see what we get in Week 2 to determine the true value for our lifestyle. Stay tuned!

Featured image by Unsplash/Pexels.
