Blue Apron: Week 2 Review

In all honesty, I meant to cancel our second week before it shipped, but didn’t make the cut-off. I wasn’t too bummed about my forgetfulness because I had seen the upcoming menu and really wanted to try the Korean dish it promised. Then, once it arrived, learned that my man was equally stoked about the stromboli recipe. Guess it was meant to be!

Week 2 Meals

  • Mushroom & Spinach Stromboli with Fresh Mozzarella & Tomato Sauce
  • Sweet Potato & Green Chile Quesadillas with Arugula & Avocado Salad
  • Spicy Korean Rice Cakes with Yu Choy & Soft-Boiled Eggs

Cost for Week #2: $59.94

Delivery was not right on time, but Blue Apron did send me an email to let me know that it would be a day late due to an issue with FedEx. However, a delivery attempt was made on Friday, Jan. 13th but required a signature, which had not been the case on our first order, so the package wasn’t left.

We didn’t receive our Blue Apron box until the following Monday or Tuesday. All of the ingredients were, luckily, still cold, but both ice packs had fully melted leaving some of the ingredients or their packaging a bit damp. All of the greens still looked bright and fresh, so my hopes were high that nothing had spoiled. Fingers crossed!

We started off the stromboli since that’s what my man was most excited about. He did all the prep work and cooking, and we both enjoyed this one. It seemed more involved than most of the meals I made or helped make, but we’ll keep it in the recipe file for special occasions.

The quesadillas were super simple and so yummy! Prep time was short, but I did ask for assistance when it came to chopping onions (my least favorite). I enjoyed this whole meal, but the boyfriend was not into the salad, at all, which I was pretty prepared for — he doesn’t like arugula. Definitely a keeper, we just won’t make the salad again.

And last, but definitely not least, the spicy Korean dish. This was by far the best meal of all (including the previous three)! For once, spicy did actually come with some heat behind it, but too much if spicy isn’t your thing. It was another meal I didn’t participate in cooking, but by the looks of the kitchen it was a bit messy and had a bit more prep work than other meals.

Our second of week of meals was much better than the first, considering that both liked all three recipes. Although some recipes were a little bland, in my opinion, I think they could easily be tweaked to add more flavor or spice.

Pros & Cons

  • Again meal planning and grocery shopping were shortened.
  • Every meal we recieved took an hour or less to make (a must, for me!).
  • Delivery was a bit more of a hassle this time around.
  • It’s expensive for just two people!

The Final Verdict

I love love love the convenience of Blue Apron! Not having to plan meals, ingredients are delivered to my door and spending less time in the grocery store. But Blue Apron just doesn’t make sense for us, for several reasons.

While I appreciate that there’s a vegetarian option, my man isn’t veg. He primarily eats vegetarian at home because I usually meal plan and cook. However, he does, on occasion, make himself some sort of meat to addto whatever veggie meal we’re making. Blue Apron would limit his opportunities to do that, and he would probably get burnt out on “all veg, all the time” pretty fast.

The recipes were kind of hit or miss, which is to be expected when trying anything new. But for the price, I was hoping they would all be amazing!

Ultimately, the deciding blow is cost. We would spend more, every week, than if we did all of our own shopping and meal planning since we still have to purchase staple items. Our average grocery budget is about $60-70 per week, maximum of $100 if we’re out of, literally, everything — that budget includes food, toiletries, pet care items, and anything else we need.

So who could benefit from Blue Apron?

Lots of people!

Blue Apron seems like a reasonable idea for larger families. The cost per meal is less on the family plan (feeds four). And you can customize how many meals you get each week, which may help keep grocery costs within your budget.

Aside from that, there are plenty of people who are trying to eat healthier but don’t know where or how to start, especially when it comes to grocery shopping. Others may not be familiar with cooking for themselves and are looking for a way to ease into it. Blue Apron makes both of these adventures available, easy, and stress-free!

Featured image by Pixabay/Pexels.
