Minimizing: Clothing

The current Mission to Minimize started shortly before Christmas, and I purposely put off closets/clothing until the post-holiday season because we, inevitably, get some new clothes as gifts. Typically, I come home with what could pass for an entirely new wardrobe, but this year, I did not!

I did, however, get a pair of loafers, a dress, a couple tops, some tank tops to wear under sheer blouses, and some leggings. And my man got a couple long-sleeve tees and a new flannel.

As much as I love fashion, I’m super-thankful that I didn’t fill my wishlist with clothing and that my family has been cutting back on the amount of stuff they buy for my birthday and Christmas. It makes unpacking much easier, helps me keep things on the minimal-ish side, and allows me to hold onto the items I truly love.

****

No matter how many times I declutter throughout the year, clothing is always an issue.

After the KonMari experience, my clothes only needed about half the closet space they previously had. It was also the first time I’d ever purged clothing and seen a real, noticeable difference once the task was complete.

In the past year, I’ve also managed to pare down my “dresser clothing” — socks, underwear, bras, tights, pajamas, etc. — into a roll-away tote that fits under the bed. My man has most of his clothing, aside from dress clothes, flannels and long-sleeve tees, in one, as well. But my clothes still take up a majority of the closet.

****

Right before the holidays, I donated 2 trash bags full of clothing, shoes, and jewelry.

Right after Christmas, I went through my closet once again. In part to make room for the few new items I’d received, but also to switch out all of the bulky, plastic hangers with new, low-profile, felt ones. Once again, I walked away with 1-2 bags that were filled with clothes, a bit more jewelry, and a few pairs of shoes.

My closet doesn’t look much different. But I am, admittedly, addicted to jackets. I’m notoriously cold and wear one with most outfits, regardless of season or temperature, which means that options are nice. Sure, this section of my wardrobe could probably be whittled down more, but I just can’t bear to get rid of more!

Since my wardrobe isn’t quite as sparse as I think I’d like it to be, I’ve made a plan:

For the next few months, I will work with all the items currently in my wardrobe. Then, I will revisit my closet to see what I did or did not wear. This will, hopefully, help me decide which items stay and which should go.

Feature image by Rubbermaid Products/Flickr.
One thought on “Minimizing: Clothing

Comments are closed.