Green Tea & Lavender Toner

We clean with natural, DIY cleaners—from the kitchen to the laundry. And we try to be conscientious about the personal care products we purchase and use. Yet, naturalizing my makeup and beauty routine has been anything but easy or consistent. Why?

Well, for starters, I’m frugal and natural brands tend to come with a hefty price tag. Do they work? All the ones I’ve tried do, but it’s just not the most realistic option for my budget and, even if it were, I’m still probably too frugal to buy them regularly. But, I’m not a stranger to making my own products and quite enjoy doing so!

I’ve made a deodorant that worked marvelously for absorbing and deodorizing. Unfortunately, long-term use was thrown out the window when I realized that…sensitive skin + baking soda are not a good combination. And I regularly use ACV (apple cider vinegar) and baking soda to keep my hair healthy. So, I decided to further my DIY repertoire with my most recent foray into making a facial toner.

For the past several years, witch hazel has been my go-to toner. However, since moving to a more arid climate than my skin is accustomed to, it wasn’t producing the same results as usual. When a friend, from Arizona, mentioned she’d made ACV toner and it was working wonders for her skin, I vowed to give it a shot when I ran out of witch hazel.

Green Tea & Lavender Toner

Makes about 2 ounces

  • Small glass bottle (amber or cobalt, if possible)
  • Measuring cup and spoons
  • Green tea bags
  • Lavender essential oil
  • Raw, organic apple cider vinegar (ACV)
  • Filtered or distilled water
  1. Boil water for tea (I just used tap water).
  2. Place 1-2 tea bags into hot water and let steep at room temperature. When complete, place in refrigerator to cool. (I made my tea in a glass, 2-cup measuring cup even though I didn’t need that much.)
  3. Once the tea has cooled, combine 1/4 cup green tea and 2-3 tablespoons of ACV in a glass bottle. Shake gently to combine.
  4. Optional: Add 1-2 drops of lavender essential oil for a pleasant fragrance. It will also provide the toner with additional antibacterial properties to heal acne and reduce redness.

Why this ingredient combination?

Apple cider vinegar (ACV) helps restore skin’s natural pH and protects the acid mantle, which is a natural barrier for skin and hair that guards against bacteria. If the acid mantle is continually broken down by conventional cleansers, it can lead to additional skin problems.

Green tea is known for its anti-inflammatory and antioxidant power. When used in skin care, these benefits result in reduced redness and more acne-fighting power. Research suggests that green tea may slow some signs of aging.

I chose green tea, over chamomile or other options, because I have combination skin that is acne-prone. When a blemish appears, it will be glaringly red until it’s 100 percent healed and I wanted to combat that.

Lavender essential oil is one of my favorites because you can use it for just about anything, from healing wounds to diffusing for relaxation. It adds one more acne-fighting punch to this toner, along with hydrating skin and reducing redness.

In the past, I’ve used moisturizers with lavender that worked well. Since redness is clearly a recurring issue for me, adding a little lavender to up the ante (and smell nice!) was a no-brainer.

Results

I’ve been using my concoction for a few weeks and have definitely seen improvements. Breakouts heal quickly, redness doesn’t linger, and my skin feels more hydrated. The real kicker? My previously-described pores are much less noticeable to me!

This toner was super-simple to make and, if like me you have natural cleaning ingredients around the house, it didn’t require purchasing anything. The longest step is allowing the tea to cool. However, you don’t have to use tea at all and can simply combine the vinegar with distilled/filtered water, if you prefer.

Recipe adapted from The Nourished Life.
Featured image by Pexels via Pixabay.

 

 

